Friday, November 5, 2010

Daylight Savings Time Fades Into Fall.

Saturday evening before you retire, remember to set your clocks BACK one hour or you may miss the early-bird breakfast.

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of advancing clocks so that there is more daylight in the afternoon hours. It is not observed in Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and Arizona.
DST began Sunday March 14, 2010 (set clocks forward 1 hour)
DST ends Sunday November 7, 2010 (set clocks back 1 hour)

Worldwide daylight saving
Today, approximately 70 countries utilize Daylight Saving Time in at least a portion of the country. Japan, India, and China are the only major industrialized countries that do not observe some form of daylight saving.

Not the tropics
Equatorial and tropical countries (lower latitudes) generally do not observe Daylight Saving Time. Since the daylight hours are similar during every season, there is no advantage to moving clocks forward during the summer. China has had a single time zone since May 1, 1980, observing summer Daylight Saving Time from 1986 through 1991; they do not observe DST now.

Note that there are many oddities. For example, some parts of the U.S. and Canada do not observe Daylight Saving Time, such as the state of Arizona (U.S.) and the province Saskatchewan (Canada). Other countries can also be erratic. For example, Chile delayed its changeover date for the Pope's visit in 1987, as well as for a presidential inauguration in 1990